Back to Basics: Writing Prompts Inspired by Elementary School

I’m having one of those days where I am overwhelmed with information.  Not that there is too much information.  Just that there is too much information repeated too often in too many places.  My time on the web is very limited to nap time and middle of the night, so repeat information is really eating away at my precious minutes.

Having said that, me complaining about it is ALSO eating away at my precious minutes.

SO… Let’s get to the meat of this post: As prep to easing into my commitment to write every day I thought I’d create some lists.  To defeat writers block when I have such a limited timeframe for writing, I thought I’d just make it easy on myself and find some writing prompts on the internet, lists in a convenient place and go.  But then, the black hole that it is the internet sucked me in and I found all kinds of relevant and interesting… maybe even life changing… prompts that had me questioning my life and where I had been and where I was going.  Problem is I don’t have 8 hour blocks of the day to write profound works of art explaining or defending my existence.  I’m pretty sure the meaning of my life cannot be typed in 60 minutes, which is the time I’m planning on stealing away to write.  At least I hope not.  So I needed to anti-ADD the whole situation and revert back to basics.

Stop… Drop… and KISS

  • Stop wandering off from the task or procrastinating.
  • Drop what I’m doing.
  • And Keep It Simple Stupid.

Boom.

I need to write.  Not dissect the human existence.  My daily writings and blog post aren’t meant to resemble a psychology thesis.  I, personally, just need to get back into the habit of writing every day.  Get back to the joy of writing.  Like when I was in elementary school.

I’ve Got It!

Like when I was in elementary school. DUH! The obvious and practical answer is to use the writing prompts they used in elementary school and I can get to the deeper stuff sooner or later.  On my limited schedule I would have to say it’s going to be later for the life changing prose.

If you are hitting your head against the Writer’s Block I encourage you to join me in some simple, fun, prompt driven writing like we use to do when we were young and writing was joy without the pain, and fun without the work. Simply your words on paper without the responsibilities that come with putting your words on paper.

Here are your Elementary Writing Prompts

  1. Compare what it was like a year ago to where you are now. What things are the same?  What things are different?
  2. What is your most significant memory from elementary school? Middle school?  High school?
  3. 10 things every ____________ should know.  (Fill in the blank with your personal identifier, ex. mom, blogger, architect, actor, erotic author, window washer, etc.)
  4. How did you feel about the start of this year? Were you excited or nervous?  How do you feel about it now that the year is half over?  Write a paragraph about how your feelings have changed.
  5. Think back and write about what was your favorite subject in school.  What was your least favorite?
  6. If you could eliminate one recurring task from your day what would it be?
  7. What is your favorite part of the day? Why?
  8. The best thing about my job is?
  9. My goals for this year are?
  10. 10. If you were a teacher what subject would you teach and at what grade level would you teach it?
  11. The craziest reasons you couldn’t or didn’t turn in your homework in school? Or your assignment in college? Or your work at your job?
  12. Write a description about yourself, your interest and your hobbies.
  13. Here is what the new person needs to know about this school? (or neighborhood or job)
  14. I would have loved to take a school field trip to ________________.
  15. If I could be a character from any book, I’d choose to be ____________ because ____________.
  16. Interview a friend or family member with one-sentence answer interview questions and then write a paragraph introducing that person to the world.
  17. Big conference coming up for your job or favorite hobby and you get to pick the guest speaker.  Who do you select?  Why?
  18. You’ve been selected to pick the musical act at your next big event (wedding, reunion, birthday).  Who do you select?  Why?
  19. Describe what makes you special?
  20. What do you like to do in your free time?  Describe three activities.

I think #15 about what character would you be is the most fun on the list but regardless any of these is better that staring at the blank screen so I invite you to try one or 20.

Sincerely, Chantelle

Comment?

